So Why Invest In Your Employees?

So Why Should Your Business Invest In Its Employees or Anyone For That Matter?

A couple of quotes making the rounds recently …

CFO asks CEO: “What happens if we invest in developing our people and then they leave us?”

CEO: “What happens if we don’t, and they stay?”

These statements speak volumes about the underlying culture of a business and ultimately the value placed on the very people that propel it’s success.  It’s ultimately the responsibility of each employee to manage their career and keep current with and relevant regarding their skills.  These skills may or may not translate to the actual role of the employee within their scope of on the job responsibilities and accountabilities.  A company demonstrates it’s commitment to its employees by not only what it says (mission, vision, values) but by what it does (training, empowerment, assignments, promotions).  This ‘disconnect’ between an employees passion and their role within an organization is a major factor in retention and disengagement; the contrary is also true . . . the ‘connect’ between an employees passion and their role within an organization is a major factor in retention and engagement.

In discussions like this, I like to make the players as real and relevant as possible.  Let’s take that original statement and translate it into something closer to home base:

  • What happens if I invest in developing my family members and they leave our home?
  • What happens if I invest in developing other guys in our congregation and they leave our church?
  • What happens if I invest in developing/mentoring employees on my team and they leave our team or department?

In each of those above scenarios, I chalk it up as success when those I have mentored, trained and encouraged advance outside and beyond their current job, position, venue, team or company.

To think the contrary is unhealthy for all parties involved.
For example :

  • I share because I also need to learn
  • I give because I also need to learn to receive
  • I serve because I also need to learn about leading

My responsibility is solely that of looking beyond myself for the betterment of others.  The moment I begin to question the motives of those I am investing in, is the moment I also stop learning, receiving and leading.  Resisting or withholding investments in others is a dead-end road of selfishness; drive it at the risk of damaging your personal, professional and business  endeavors.

Summary

Investing in others is a reflection of what is already in our heart . . .

  • our morals
  • our values
  • our faith
  • our character
  • our attitudes
  • our bias
  • and ultimately . . . our true identity

Luke 6.45
A good man out of the good treasure of his heart brings forth good; and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart brings forth evil.  For out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks.

The words we use on a daily basis have the power to build up or tear down; to encourage on the 1/2 full side of the equation vs. the 1/2 empty side; to make an intentional choice of purpose vs. be a victim of circumstances.

Blessings!

This entry was posted in User Adoption. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

